Queensland State Title a cracker

Terry Leerentveld was able to secure back to back Qld championships in style on Saturday night at Toowoomba’s Hi Tec Oils Speedway.

In sensational racing conditions 26 Modlites started the night’s activities and by the end of the night 22 competitors would be under the previous lap record held by Aaron Prosser.

The South Australian traveller now holds the new one lap record: Graham Knuckey at 14.572.

Having made the trek up from Adelaide Graham secured top point scorer for the A main with some consistent heat race finishes and a strong dash win.

Graham led the first 18 laps of the A main after a strong early tussle with fellow front row starter Klinton Hancey.

A late race caution closed the field up and with Graham making contact with some fluid on the track spun his tyres on the re-start allowing Terry to take the advantage.

Leerentveld hit the front from his 5th row starting position and was able to gap the field in the closing stages to take the win in front of his local crowd.

Third home was Sean Rose backing up his last start feature win proving he is a serious contender in his rookie season.

Having started alongside Leerentveld in row 5 Aussie champion Aaron Prosser charged up to 4th. Chris Were also had his best result of his rookie season rounding out the top 5.

The biggest mover in the field was Scott Lehfeldt who started 24th due to an electrical issue earlier on in the night and fought his way up to 5th before the gremlins returned forcing him to retire

The heat racing was exciting with several races going flag to flag without a caution and some of the heavy hitters struggling to make their way through. All in all, an awesome race night with some of the beast racing seen all season.

A Main top 10 : Terry Leerentveld, Graham Knuckey, Sean Rose, Aaron Prosser, Chris Were, Will Butler Sean Butcher, Robert Hardy, Wayne Donaldson, Nathan Politch

Featured Posts
Recent Posts