Round 1 of the Modlites Qld Pro Series

Isnt it great to be back – This thought crossed the minds of all the Modlites QLD competitors as they gathered for the opening round of the Modlites Queenland Pro series supported by pro race cars at Archerfield Speedway in Brisbane. With 17 magnificently presented cars in the pits it promised to be a special night of action to kick of the 2017-18 season.

The opening heat race got off to a swift start with Ben Walker dominating the field to take a flag to flag victory with a comfortable winning margin of 2.370secs. Terry Leerentveld setting quickest time of the heat with a 16.780 was able to sneak through for second place right at the death to relegate Chris Crowe to third. The second heart race of the night saw Nathan Politch take his first heat race win of the year narrowly defeating Steve Collins by 0.371 sec, Sean Rose and Kyle Honour. Only 0.724 separated the top four competitors. After a small hiatus the returning Michael Kendall only made it to turn 1 with Chris Crowe, Alex craft and Brock Lehfeldt all joining him on the infield. Klinton Hancey took a 2.113 sec victory in heat 3 after setting the quickest time of the night in heat 2 at 15.831. Leerentveld was home in second followed by Chris Were in third.

Leerentveld in the Q1 was top pointscorer and was given the opportunity to draw the nights invert. Leerentveld lead the points from Hancey, Steve Collins, Walker, Rose, Chris Were, Politch, Brad Dawson, Crowe and Neil Gregson in his first night rounding out the top 10.

With the invert draw taking place Leerentveld pulled the number 8 meaning the top 8 pointscorers will be reversed for the A main start. Brad Dawson qualifier 8th was our inaugural pole sitter for the A main. With the top 2 qualifiers Lerentveld and Hancey buried in 8th and 7th the stage was set for an eventfull A main. Problems struck in turn 1 of the A main with Sean Rose and Nathan Politch getting together causing the first restart and relegating Politch to the rear. After quite a few more stopages the A main got into a groove with Leerentveld chased all the way to the line by brad Dawson. Scott Lehfeldt came from the clouds to grab the final podium position. Category newcomer and rookie of the night went to Dallas Czerwinski in fourth spot. The top 10 was rounded out by Will Butler (5) Hancey (6th) Kendall (7th) Neil Gregson (8th) Politch (9th) and Rose (10th). Round 2 is set for October 14.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts