Modlites sizzle at Sportsmans night

Modlites sizzle at Sportsmans night

Saturday night saw Modlites Qld grace the high banks of Toowoombas Hi tec oils speedway in the inaugural “Sportsman night” The venue aimed to provide a race night outside of the normal premier race meetings and give some of the support divisions some added track time. In what was a sensational display the modlites put on some great racing with competitors really raising the bar with some super fast lap times.

Modlites Qld decided to run a teams format and trial something a little different. The 12 competitors were randomly divided into 3 teams of four drivers. They were then divided onto the track in two groups of 6 with 2 competitors in each team. One group started ½ a lap behind on the race start. Wow did it provide some action with viewers not sure which part of the track to watch. Klinton Hancey, Kyle Honour, Sean Rose all grabbed heat group wins with Chris Were, Dylan Hunter and the Lehfeldt family all having good runs in the heat races. Unfortunately Robert Hardy and Chris Crowe struck problems in the heat races effectively putting the cue in the rack for there teams hopes.

The A main saw all the drivers line up in there qualifying positions reverting to a traditional A main start. Klinton Hancey and Sean Rose were locked on high points with Hancey getting the P1 with his team being the highest pointscorers. Nudged in behind on row 2 was Aaron Prosser and Chris Were closely followed by Kyle Honour. Prosser got the jump on the start and out foxed the front row to grab an early lead and look set to take the challenge to the rest of the pack. Rose was able to get alongside Prosser and stole the lead on lap three. With only one stoppage in the A main Sean was chased hard all the way but ultimately had enough legs to get the job done. Sean Rose took his second win in two weeks after tasting glory in Tamworth the week prior. Aaron Prosser was runner up with Klinton Hancey third. Scott Lehefeldt was 4th home in front of Chris Were, Dylan hunter, Brock Lehfeldt, Tim Luscombe, Luke Whitehill and Sean Egan rounding out the finishers.

In the teams challenge Chris Were, Scott Lehfeldt, Dylan Hunter and Klinton Hancey took the honours with all four finishing inside the top 6.

Thanks to all those that competed at Toowoomba and allowed us to trial something a little unique. We may try this again next season with some more glitz and glamour.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts